India Inc 2019 - Who's Who
Who's Who

Members of Parliament

Rajya Sabha

The Rajya Sabha is to consist of not more than 250 members - 238 members representing the States and Union Territories, and 12 members nominated by the President. Rajya Sabha is a permanent body and is not subject to dissolution. However, one third of the members retire every second year, and are replaced by newly elected members. Each member is elected for a term of six years.


Lok Sabha

The Lok Sabha is composed of representatives of people chosen by direct election on the basis of Universal Adult Suffrage. Maximum strength of the House is 552 members - 530 members to represent the States, 20 members to represent the Union Territories, and 2 members to be nominated by the President from the Anglo-Indian Community to be nominated by the Hon'ble President,  if,  in his/her opinion, that community is not adequately represented in the House. The total elective membership is distributed among the States in such a way that the ratio between the number of seats allotted to each State and the population of the State is, so far as practicable, the same for all States.At present, the strength of the House is 545.


Who's Who


Speaker, Lok Sabha

Shri Om Birla

Description: Macintosh HD:private:var:folders:zk:jx9zvtm51gv1gcnd5jb822kw0000gn:T:TemporaryItems:speaker_imgframe2.jpg

Date of Birth

23 Nov 1962

Place of Birth

Kota, Rajasthan

Mother's Name

Late Smt. Shakuntla Devi

Father's Name

Shri Shrikrishna Birla

Spouse's Name

Dr. Amita Birla

Educational Qualifications

M.Com. Educated at Govt. Commerce College, Kota and MDS University, Ajmer (Rajasthan)

Position Held

  • 2003-2014 Member, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly (three terms)
  • 31 May 2004-2008 Appointed as Parliamentary Secretary (MOS) to the Govt. of Rajasthan
  • May, 2014 Elected to 16th Lok Sabha
  • 14 Aug. 2014 - 30 April 2016 Member, Committee on Estimates
  • 1 Sep. 2014 - 25 May 2019 Member, Committee on Petitions
  • Member, Standing Committee on Energy)
  • Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment
  • 3 July 2015 - 30 April 2016 Member, Sub Committee-III, Committee on Estimates
  • May, 2019 Re-elected to 17th Lok Sabha (2nd term)

Travels Abroad

U.A.E. (Dubai)

Other Information

  • Helped the poor, helpless, serious patients by providing them financial assistance upto Rs. 50 lakh through the State Govt. during tenure as Parliamentary Secretary to the Govt. of Rajasthan;
  • Helped the flood victims and led the relief Team in rescue operations and providing shelter and medical facilities to the flood victims in Kota city on 15-16 August 2004;
  • Helped the handicapped, Cancer patients and Thalassemia patients through various social organizations. Provided free tricycles, wheelchairs and hearing aids to the handicapped;
  • Launched a major 'Green quota forestation campaign' to plant around one lakh trees in Kota to check rising pollution and declining greenery;
  • Led the movement to promote the talented in rural areas by formulating a major scheme of organizing sports and cultural programmes in rural areas of the country through Nehru Yuva Kendra; Led the mission to remove malnutrition and semi-unemployment in Sahriya tribal area in District Bara of Rajasthan;
  • Led the relief team of more than 100 voluntary workers including Doctors in order to help the victims of earthquake which occurred in Gujarat on 26 January, 2001. Assisted the earthquake victims for 10 day continuously and distributed food and medicines;
  • Organized blood donation camps from time to time on various occasions, anniversaries and as required;
  • Generated the spirit of National service and social service in the entire country while serving as National Vice-President, Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha, Delhi;
  • Launched the scheme of developing the network of Super Bazar scheme throughout the country while serving as Vice Chairman, National Cooperative Consumer Association Ltd., New Delhi;
  • Led new public awareness campaign regarding Cooperative movement; Started the work of free distribution of medicines to all the pensioner patients in the State;
  • Launched new welfare schemes by reviving the non functional Kota Upbhokta Bhandar Limited;
  • Launched the Gift centre scheme to provide the common man cost effective and quality goods under the same roof so as to give new dimension to the cooperative movement in the State;
  • Was imprisoned in Uttar Pradesh due to active participation in Ram Mandir construction movement;
  • Led the movement of starting Sawai Madhopur Cement Factory in Jaipur and Sawai Madhopur and was imprisoned in various jails of the State in this connection;
  • Led the strong protest of BJP to the arrival of Chief Minister Ashok Gahlot on the occasion of inauguration of Kota overbridge ; Primary Member of Rashtriya Swayam Sevak Sangh;
  • Set up free clothes gift centres for free distribution of clothes to the poor, helpless and needy;
  • Set up 'Prasadam' to provide free food to the poor, helpless and the needy where the needy are being provided two meals a day; and 'Medicine Bank' to provide free treatment and medicines to the poor, helpless and the needy so as to provide free medicines to the needy patients;
  • Started organizing from 2006 onwards historic and patriotic programme 'Azadi ke Swar' on the eve of Independence Day in order to awaken the forgotten spirit of patriotism in the common man and especially the youth and in remembrance of the sacrifices made by the martyrs and for inculcating the spirit of nationalism and character building in the new generation. It is being organized as a festival in Kota city every year wherein people from various walks of life including singers, artists, poets, intellectuals, farmers, labourers, take part; Felicitation programmes held in Kota and Bundi to honour more than 15 thousand retired officers and officials which was highly successful;
  • Held historic movement to set up IIT in Kota city;
  • Launched movement for supply of Chambal river water in District Bundi; Rawatbhata Movement; For waiver of City Development Tax; Movement against Multinational Companies.

Asked more than 500 questions in Thirteenth Rajasthan Legislative Assembly and his name was included in 'Sadan ke Sitaare' at least 6 times for participating in the debate in the House

Previous Responsibilities

  1. National Vice-President: All India Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (for 6 years continuously);
  2. State President: Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha, Rajasthan (for 6 years continuously);
  3. District President: Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha, Kota (4 years);
  4. Vice President: National Cooperative Consumer Association Ltd., New Delhi;
  5. Chairman: Rajasthan State Cooperative Consumer Association Ltd., Jaipur (from June 1992 to June 1995); Kota Sahkari Upbhokta Wholesale Bhandaar Ltd., Kota (from 4 May 1987 to June 1995);
  6. Member: Coal India Ltd., New Delhi; Nehru Yuva Kendra, New Delhi;
  7. Joint Secretary: Rajasthan College of Commerce, Kota (Raj.);
  8. President, Students Association, Govt. Sr. Sec. School, Gumanpura, Kota (in year 1979 at the tender age of 17 years)


Office: 16, Parliament House, New Delhi - 110 001


Panel of Charpersons in Lok Sabha

  • Shri Anandrao Adsul
  • Shri Arjun Charan Sethi
  • Shri Hukm Deo Narayan Yadav
  • Shri K.H. Muniyappa
  • Shri Kalraj Mishra
  • Shri Konakalla Narayana Rao
  • Dr. P. Venugopal
  • Shri Pralhad Joshi
  • Shri Ramen Deka
  • Dr. Ratna De (Nag)


Please login to post your comments.
Srikari V.
15 Jul 2023 10:47
Absolutely great person